Home › Guides
Claude limits draining faster? What's confirmed
Published 2026-10-25. Sources checked 2026-10-22 to 2026-10-25.
Some Claude Pro and Max users say their five-hour and weekly limits run out faster than before. This page lists only what Anthropic has said in its help center, pricing pages, status page and named public posts by Anthropic staff. We use no third-party reporting and make no guesses. Where Anthropic has not published something, we write not stated.
Short answer
- Anthropic has not announced any cut to Pro or Max usage limits on the official pages listed here (checked through 2026-10-25). The only limit change it announced recently was an increase to five-hour limits on 2026-09-22.
- Boris Cherny and Lydia Hallie of Anthropic (Claude Code) have replied to users in public that limits have not changed, and asked for
/usage or /feedback details. - The Claude status page lists no incident about plan usage limits in the period it shows. It did list errors loading API usage data on platform.claude.com (2026-10-07 to 2026-10-13).
- How many messages or tokens a limit equals: not stated.
What Anthropic staff have said
No changes on our end. Can you run this command and paste the full output here? Happy to help debug.
Source: Boris Cherny (@bcherny), reply on X, 2026-10-22, last checked 2026-10-25.
No changes on our end, we monitor usage really carefully.
Source: Boris Cherny (@bcherny), reply on X, 2026-10-04, last checked 2026-10-25.
To debug, run /usage to see a detailed token by token breakdown for your own usage. Most often it’s a runaway loop or really inefficient skill
Source: Boris Cherny (@bcherny), reply on X, 2026-10-04, last checked 2026-10-25.
hey, our limits haven't changed, but could you run /feedback in a session where you noticed it draining faster and dm me the feedback id? I can take a look
Source: Lydia Hallie (@lydiahallie), reply on X, 2026-10-22, last checked 2026-10-25.
Both X profiles describe them as working on Claude or Claude Code at Anthropic. These are replies to individual users, not formal announcements.
Limit changes Anthropic announced
we’re increasing five-hour usage limits on Pro, Max, Team, and seat-based Enterprise plans.
Source: Introducing Claude Opus 5.5 (2026-09-22), last checked 2026-10-22.
Size of that increase: not stated. Weekly limits are not mentioned. Our entry: Anthropic (Claude): Five-hour usage limits increased on Pro, Max, Team and seat-based Enterprise plans at the Claude Opus 5.5 launch; subscription users also got a saveable rate limit reset. Weekly limits are not mentioned in the announcement. (2026-09-22).
For two weeks, start a design, deck, or doc in the Claude app, and the work that follows in that conversation uses 50% less of your usage limits.
Source: @claudeai on X, 2026-10-01, last checked 2026-10-25.
That was a two-week promotion announced 2026-10-01. The exact end date and time: not stated in the post.
How Anthropic says limits work
Paid plans have two types of usage limits: a session limit that resets every five hours, and weekly limits that reset once every week.
Source: How do usage and length limits work?, last checked 2026-10-22.
These limits are shared across Claude and Claude Code, meaning all activity in both tools counts against the same limits.
Source: Use Claude Code with your Pro or Max plan, last checked 2026-10-24.
In addition, to manage capacity and ensure fair access to all users, we may limit your usage in other ways, such as weekly and monthly caps or model and feature usage, at our discretion.
Source: What is the Max plan?, last checked 2026-10-24.
Research sessions may consume tokens more quickly due to multiple searches and comprehensive analysis.
Source: Manage usage credits for paid Claude plans, last checked 2026-10-22.
More detail: How Claude's weekly usage limits work.
Status page
We are investigating elevated errors affecting usage data on the platform.claude.com Usage page and the Admin API usage report. Core functionality is not affected.
Source: Claude status page (incident posted 2026-10-07), last checked 2026-10-25.
API requests are not affected
Source: Claude status page (same incident), last checked 2026-10-25.
That incident was about the platform.claude.com usage pages and Admin API usage report, not Pro or Max plan limits. It is marked resolved on 2026-10-13. Other incidents in the period shown are about elevated errors, not usage limits.
Check your own usage
The Plan usage limits section at the top shows your progress towards both your session limit and weekly limits.
Source: Usage limit best practices, last checked 2026-10-22.
You can see your next reset time in Settings > Usage
Source: What is the Max plan?, last checked 2026-10-24.
In Claude Code, Anthropic staff point users to the /usage command (see the quotes above).
Claude Code warning when resuming
Added a warning on Pro and Max plans when resuming an inactive conversation would use a noticeable share of your 5-hour usage limit: resume anyway, or start a new conversation and Claude can look up the previous one if you refer to it
Source: Claude Code changelog, version 2.1.304, last checked 2026-10-25.
Release date of 2.1.304: not stated in the changelog. What counts as a "noticeable share": not stated.
What to do at the cap
1. Claude usage credits (Pro and Max)
With usage credits enabled, once one of your included limits is fully used (your five-hour session limit or one of your weekly limits), your requests switch to pay-as-you-go pricing on usage credits and keep working.
Source: Manage usage credits for paid Claude plans, last checked 2026-10-22.
Usage credits are billed at standard API rates
Source: Manage usage credits for paid Claude plans, last checked 2026-10-22.
Usage credits are charged separately from your paid Claude subscription and appear as additional charges on your bill.
Source: Manage usage credits for paid Claude plans, last checked 2026-10-22.
Standard API rates, USD per million tokens (input / output):
How many tokens one message or Claude Code session uses: not stated. Minimum top-up amount for usage credits: not stated.
2. Free limit resets (when offered)
Limit resets are given occasionally to eligible plans, and set your usage limits back to full when you choose to use one.
Source: What is a limit reset?, last checked 2026-10-22.
Depending on the limit reset shown, either your five-hour session limit or your weekly usage limit go back to full right away.
Source: What is a limit reset?, last checked 2026-10-22.
Who is eligible and how often: not stated.
3. API credits (Claude Console)
For heavy coding sessions, you can also switch to pay-as-you-go API credits through a
Source: Claude pricing (FAQ), last checked 2026-10-24.
API credits are billed at the same per-token rates as the table above. Max plans list monthly API credits: Claude pricing, checked 2026-10-24 ($100/month on Max 5x, $200/month on Max 20x; none on Free or Pro). But:
Monthly API credits included with Max plans can’t be used in Claude Code or the Claude apps, including for usage credits.
Source: Use Claude Code with your Pro or Max plan, last checked 2026-10-24.
Minimum API credit purchase: not stated in the pages we checked.
4. OpenAI Codex: credits and limit resets
ChatGPT Plus and Pro users who reach their usage limit can purchase additional credits to continue working without needing to upgrade their existing plan.
Source: Codex pricing, last checked 2026-10-24.
Credit purchase prices and applicable discounts depend on your plan or agreement.
Source: Codex pricing, last checked 2026-10-24.
Price per Codex credit: not stated on that page.
OpenAI may occasionally provide eligible users with a one-time reset of Codex or ChatGPT Work usage limits. Eligibility, the limits affected, and any redemption or expiration requirements may vary by offer. Future resets are not guaranteed.
Source: Using Codex with your ChatGPT plan, last checked 2026-10-24.
Using a full banked reset refreshes your 5-hour and weekly Codex usage windows and changes your weekly reset date.
Source: Using Codex with your ChatGPT plan, last checked 2026-10-24.
No. OpenAI Support does not reset ChatGPT or Codex usage limits.
Source: Using Codex with your ChatGPT plan, last checked 2026-10-24.
OpenAI does not list a price for a Codex limit reset; resets are given through offers and referrals (price: not stated). Plan prices: What each AI coding plan gets you.
User reports (unconfirmed)
Investigating · reported 2026-10-22 · Anthropic (Claude) · quota
User reports that, since Claude Opus 5.5, weekly allowances on Claude subscriptions run out faster than a few weeks earlier with the same workflows, and asks Anthropic to explain any change.
Same workflows. Same subscriptions. Completely different experience.
Public post: https://x.com/_edwardinio_/status/2113421446898679893
This is a user report, not a confirmed change. We list it while we look for an official source.
Report details
What the sources don't say
- Whether Pro or Max limits were reduced at any time in October 2026: not stated; no announcement found, and staff replies say no changes.
- The size of any five-hour or weekly limit in messages, tokens or hours: not stated.
- The size of the 2026-09-22 five-hour increase: not stated.
- Minimum top-up for Claude usage credits or API credits: not stated.
- Price of one OpenAI Codex credit, or of a Codex limit reset: not stated.
Sources
See also: How Claude's weekly usage limits work · What each AI coding plan gets you · All Anthropic changes. Something wrong? Dispute it; corrections are dated and appended.