Home › Guides
How Claude's weekly usage limits work
How the Claude weekly limit reset works, and what counts toward the weekly limit. This page quotes Anthropic's official help center and announcements only. Each quote shows the page it comes from and the date we last checked it. Where Anthropic does not say something, we write not stated. It covers individual Pro and Max subscriptions; Team and Enterprise details are not covered here.
What the weekly limit is
Paid plans have two types of usage limits: a session limit that resets every five hours, and weekly limits that reset once every week.
Source: How do usage and length limits work?, last checked 2026-10-22.
Pro plans also have a weekly usage limit that applies across all models.
Source: What is the Pro plan?, last checked 2026-10-22.
Max plans also have a weekly usage limit that applies across all models.
Source: What is the Max plan?, last checked 2026-10-22.
When it resets
Weekly limits reset at a fixed time each week that is assigned to your account.
Source: What is the Pro plan?, last checked 2026-10-22.
Your reset day and time stay the same regardless of when you start using Claude or when your subscription begins, and you receive your full weekly allowance each cycle.
Source: What is the Max plan?, last checked 2026-10-22.
You can see your next reset time in Settings > Usage
Source: What is the Max plan?, last checked 2026-10-22.
Which day and time is assigned to an account: not stated (shown per account in Settings > Usage).
What counts toward it
These limits are shared across Claude and Claude Code, meaning all activity in both tools counts against the same limits.
Source: Use Claude Code with your Pro or Max plan, last checked 2026-10-22.
Claude Code, Claude Desktop) counts towards the same usage limit
Source: How do usage and length limits work? (partial sentence), last checked 2026-10-22.
How much of the weekly limit a given model, prompt or Claude Code session uses: not stated.
The five-hour session limit
Your session-based usage limit will reset every five hours.
Source: What is the Max plan?, last checked 2026-10-22.
Max gives you 5x or 20x more usage per 5-hour session than Pro.
Source: Claude pricing, last checked 2026-10-22.
On 2026-09-22, at the Claude Opus 5.5 launch, Anthropic announced higher five-hour limits:
we’re increasing five-hour usage limits on Pro, Max, Team, and seat-based Enterprise plans.
Source: Introducing Claude Opus 5.5 (2026-09-22), last checked 2026-10-22.
That announcement does not mention weekly limits. Size of the increase: not stated. Our entry: Anthropic (Claude): Five-hour usage limits increased on Pro, Max, Team and seat-based Enterprise plans at the Claude Opus 5.5 launch; subscription users also got a saveable rate limit reset. Weekly limits are not mentioned in the announcement. (2026-09-22).
Fable weekly limit (Max)
Max plans also have a separate weekly limit for Fable.
Source: Use Claude Code with your Pro or Max plan, last checked 2026-10-22.
Some plans have an additional weekly limit that applies specifically to Fable.
Source: Troubleshoot Claude error messages, last checked 2026-10-22.
The pricing page lists "50% of weekly limits*" for Fable on Max; the meaning of the asterisk was not captured in our snapshot.
Other caps Anthropic may apply
In addition, to manage capacity and ensure fair access to all users, we may limit your usage in other ways, such as weekly and monthly caps or model and feature usage, at our discretion.
Source: What is the Max plan?, last checked 2026-10-22.
What happens when you hit it
If you reach a limit and don’t have usage credits enabled, you’ll see an error message letting you know when you can use Claude again
Source: Troubleshoot Claude error messages, last checked 2026-10-22.
With usage credits enabled, once one of your included limits is fully used (your five-hour session limit or one of your weekly limits), your requests switch to pay-as-you-go pricing on usage credits and keep working.
Source: Manage usage credits for paid Claude plans, last checked 2026-10-22.
Usage credits don’t affect the reset timing of any of these limits.
Source: Manage usage credits for paid Claude plans, last checked 2026-10-22.
Limit resets
Depending on the limit reset shown, either your five-hour session limit or your weekly usage limit go back to full right away.
Source: What is a limit reset?, last checked 2026-10-22.
Your weekly limits still reset on their usual day and time.
Source: What is a limit reset?, last checked 2026-10-22.
Where to check your usage
The Plan usage limits section at the top shows your progress towards both your session limit and weekly limits.
Source: Usage limit best practices, last checked 2026-10-22.
What the sources don't say
- The size of any weekly limit, per plan or per model, as a number of messages, tokens or hours: not stated.
- Whether weekly limits changed at or after the Claude Opus 5.5 launch: not stated. The 2026-09-22 announcement mentions five-hour limits only.
- How fast different models, effort levels or Claude Code sessions use the weekly limit: not stated.
- Which reset day an account is assigned: not stated.
- Meaning of the asterisk on "50% of weekly limits*" on the pricing page: not captured.
- Any acknowledgement of user reports of weekly limits running out faster: none found on the official pages listed here (checked 2026-10-22).
User reports (unconfirmed)
Investigating · reported 2026-10-22 · Anthropic (Claude) · quota
User reports that, since Claude Opus 5.5, weekly allowances on Claude subscriptions run out faster than a few weeks earlier with the same workflows, and asks Anthropic to explain any change.
Same workflows. Same subscriptions. Completely different experience.
Public post: https://x.com/_edwardinio_/status/2113421446898679893
This is a user report, not a confirmed change. We list it while we look for an official source.
Report details
Related LimitWatch entries
Entries about the Claude API (rate-limit tiers, token prices) are separate from Pro and Max subscription limits. See also all Anthropic changes, How AI billing works and the changelog. Something wrong? Dispute it.
FAQ: Claude weekly limit reset
Does Claude have a weekly usage limit?
Anthropic says: "Paid plans have two types of usage limits: a session limit that resets every five hours, and weekly limits that reset once every week." Source (checked 2026-10-22).
When does Claude's weekly limit reset?
Anthropic says: "Weekly limits reset at a fixed time each week that is assigned to your account." Source (checked 2026-10-22).
Do Claude and Claude Code share the same limits?
Anthropic says: "These limits are shared across Claude and Claude Code, meaning all activity in both tools counts against the same limits." Source (checked 2026-10-22).
Did Anthropic increase usage limits with Claude Opus 5.5?
Anthropic says: "we’re increasing five-hour usage limits on Pro, Max, Team, and seat-based Enterprise plans." Source (checked 2026-10-22).
Can I keep using Claude after the weekly limit?
Anthropic says: "With usage credits enabled, once one of your included limits is fully used (your five-hour session limit or one of your weekly limits), your requests switch to pay-as-you-go pricing on usage credits and keep working." Source (checked 2026-10-22).
Where can I see when my Claude weekly limit resets?
Anthropic says: "You can see your next reset time in Settings > Usage" Source (checked 2026-10-22).
Does the reset day change when my subscription renews?
Anthropic says: "Your reset day and time stay the same regardless of when you start using Claude or when your subscription begins, and you receive your full weekly allowance each cycle." Source (checked 2026-10-22).
Do usage credits change when the weekly limit resets?
Anthropic says: "Usage credits don’t affect the reset timing of any of these limits." Source (checked 2026-10-22).
Does a limit reset move my weekly reset day?
Anthropic says: "Your weekly limits still reset on their usual day and time." Source (checked 2026-10-22).
Does Claude Duet count toward the weekly limit?
Anthropic says: "Claude Duet uses your plan's usage limits, including the five-hour session and weekly limits, at the same rate as chats in Claude." Source (checked 2026-10-23).
See also: Claude limit changes: Claude Duet and plan limits.