Claude limit changes: Claude Duet and your plan limits
What Anthropic's official pages say about how Claude Duet uses Pro and Max plan limits. Quotes only; each shows its source and the date we checked it (2026-10-23). Where Anthropic does not say something, we write not stated. For the weekly limit itself and the Claude weekly limit reset, see How Claude's weekly usage limits work.
Who gets Claude Duet
Claude Duet is available as a research preview to users on the Pro and Max plans in the US, through a waitlist.
During the research preview, Claude Duet is included with the Pro and Max plans at no extra cost.
Does Claude Duet share my plan limits?
Claude Duet uses your plan's usage limits, including the five-hour session and weekly limits, at the same rate as chats in Claude.
During the research preview, Claude Duet shares your plan’s usage limits with the rest of Claude, and uses them differently than a typical conversation.
Background work counts
Work it does in the background, like the morning brief and check-ins, also counts, so you may reach your limits sooner than with chat alone.
Its background checks count toward those limits, and larger tasks, like building a financial model or a deck, require more model turns and background work.
The one-time limit reset
When you're admitted to the Claude Duet research preview, you get one full limit reset, which resets both your five-hour session and weekly limits.
This limit reset is available until November 30, 2026.
What we don't know
- How much of the five-hour or weekly limit a background check or morning brief uses: not stated.
- How often Claude Duet checks accounts beyond "set intervals": not stated.
- Whether Claude Duet limits will change after the research preview, and its price after the preview: not stated.
- Reports that Anthropic is A/B testing Claude Max limits: not covered here. We found no first-party article or Anthropic statement to cite (checked 2026-10-23).
Related
- How Claude's weekly usage limits work
- All Anthropic changes
- Anthropic (Claude): Fast mode for Claude Opus 5.5 left research preview and received a default rate limit in Start, Build and Scale tiers. (2026-10-15)
- Anthropic (Claude): Max and Team plans now include monthly API credits for the Claude Platform. (2026-10-07)
- Anthropic (Claude): Prompt cache read price on Claude Sonnet 5.5 lowered. (2026-10-07)
- Anthropic (Claude): Billing resumed for refusals before any output in the bio, frontier_llm and reasoning_extraction categories. (2026-09-24)
- Anthropic (Claude): Five-hour usage limits increased on Pro, Max, Team and seat-based Enterprise plans at the Claude Opus 5.5 launch; subscription users also got a saveable rate limit reset. Weekly limits are not mentioned in the announcement. (2026-09-22)
- Anthropic (Claude): Claude Sonnet 5 introductory price made standard; scheduled increase to $3/$15 on 2026-09-01 cancelled. (2026-08-10)
Something wrong? Dispute it.