LimitWatch

Home › Guides

Codex limits: what's confirmed

Published 2026-10-26. Sources checked 2026-10-24 to 2026-10-26. Post times are UTC.

What OpenAI has published about Codex usage limits on ChatGPT plans: its Codex pricing page, help center, Codex changelog and status page, plus named posts by OpenAI staff and OpenAI's official account on X. No third-party reporting, no guesses. Where OpenAI has not published a figure, we write not stated.

Short answer

Five-hour limit (Plus and Business)

The estimates below show local messages per five-hour period for Plus and Standard Business.

Source: Codex pricing, last checked 2026-10-24.

ModelPlus and Standard Business, local messages per 5 hours (estimate)Source
GPT-6 Astra5-45Codex pricing, checked 2026-10-24
GPT-6.1 Sol15-160Codex pricing, checked 2026-10-24
GPT-6 Sol15-150Codex pricing, checked 2026-10-24
GPT-6 Luna350-3,000Codex pricing, checked 2026-10-24
These estimates are not fixed message limits

Source: Codex pricing, last checked 2026-10-24.

Cloud tasks may use more of your allowance than local messages.

Source: Codex pricing, last checked 2026-10-24.

Pro plans and weekly limits

Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit.

Source: Codex pricing, last checked 2026-10-24.

Weekly limits may also apply.

Source: Codex pricing, last checked 2026-10-24.

The Pro 20X is quite precisely 20X the usage of the Plus subscription

Source: Tibo (@thsottiaux, OpenAI), X, 2026-08-31, last checked 2026-10-26.

in Codex they apply specifically to weekly usage limits

Source: Tibo (@thsottiaux, OpenAI), X, 2026-08-31, last checked 2026-10-26.

we’re introducing Pro 500—a new plan with our highest usage limits (25x Plus) and access to Ultrafast.

Source: OpenAI (@OpenAI), X, 2026-09-29, last checked 2026-10-26.

Size of any weekly limit, for any plan: not stated. Pro limits in absolute terms: not stated.

What uses the limit faster

Codex pricing, checked 2026-10-24: Fast mode uses included usage at 2.5x and purchased credits at 2x the Standard rate for the same model.
Image generations use included limits ~3-5x faster on average

Source: Codex pricing, last checked 2026-10-24.

For plans that use shared allowances or credits, Codex, ChatGPT Work, ChatGPT for Excel, and Workspace Agents use a shared allowance and credit pool when those features are available on your plan.

Source: Using Codex with your ChatGPT plan, last checked 2026-10-24.

auto-review safety checks are free and don’t count toward your plan’s usage limits.

Source: Using Codex with your ChatGPT plan, last checked 2026-10-24.

Reports of limits draining faster

We've investigated a few messages about codex usage limits being different. That's not something we change without engaging the community and being transparent.

Source: Tibo (@thsottiaux, OpenAI), X, 2026-08-21, last checked 2026-10-26.

We do see that for some users the cache hit rate has been worse this week than the stable state the weeks before. This could explain that usage is draining somewhat faster for those users

Source: Tibo (@thsottiaux, OpenAI), X, 2026-08-22, last checked 2026-10-26.

We’ve found (a) some inefficiencies when using images in long sessions with multiple compactions (b) high p95+ usage for Computer History

Source: Tibo (@thsottiaux, OpenAI), X, 2026-08-23, last checked 2026-10-26.

The rest of those threads was not captured; what was fixed and when: not stated in the captured text.

At the limit

ChatGPT Plus and Pro users who reach their usage limit can purchase additional credits to continue working without needing to upgrade their existing plan.

Source: Codex pricing, last checked 2026-10-24.

Credit purchase prices and applicable discounts depend on your plan or agreement.

Source: Codex pricing, last checked 2026-10-24.

No. OpenAI Support does not reset ChatGPT or Codex usage limits.

Source: Using Codex with your ChatGPT plan, last checked 2026-10-24.

Using a full banked reset refreshes your 5-hour and weekly Codex usage windows and changes your weekly reset date.

Source: Using Codex with your ChatGPT plan, last checked 2026-10-24.

Price per credit: not stated.

Changelog and status page

Added rate-limit reset banking for Plus and Pro users, including one free reset at launch

Source: Codex changelog, 2026-06-11, last checked 2026-10-26.

Usage-limit explanations and reset times now appear directly in the chat.

Source: Codex changelog (ChatGPT for iOS, 2026-10-22), last checked 2026-10-26.

We’re fully operational

Source: OpenAI status page, last checked 2026-10-26.

The OpenAI status page tracks availability (Codex listed as a component) and does not report usage-limit changes.

What the sources don't say

Sources

See also: AI usage limit resets log · Codex limits: what's confirmed · Claude limits draining faster? What's confirmed · What each AI coding plan gets you. Something wrong? Dispute it; corrections are dated and appended.