Vercel AI Gateway pricing & limits changelog
Product: Vercel AI Gateway
Current prices and limits
| Plan / model / limit | Monthly price | Input $/1M tokens | Output $/1M tokens | Limit | Last verified | History |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI Gateway token fee | n/a† | n/a† | n/a† | no markup and no platform fee on tokens | 2026-10-22 | history |
† n/a: not stated by the source, not applicable to this row, or the page could not be fetched; the reason is shown on the row where one applies.
Values copied verbatim from official pages (display rounded to 2 decimals; sub-cent prices as stated). Sources: vercel.com/docs/ai-gateway/pricing. Compare model prices across providers.
3 changes tracked since 2026-05-29; latest 2026-07-21.
Pricing
| Date | Change | Source | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-07-21 Backfilled | AI Gateway added service tiers (default, priority, flex) for OpenAI and Gemini models, billed per tier actually used.Old: Single default tier (not stated)New: priority ~1.8-2x default pricing; flex ~0.5x default pricing | source · current price | verified |
| between 2026-04-28 and 2026-05-29 Backfilled | Pricing page lists charges for opt-in capabilities: Custom Reporting, team-wide provider allowlist, team-wide ZDR.Old: No add-on charges listedNew: Custom Reporting $0.075/1,000 writes, $5/1,000 queries; team-wide provider allowlist $0.10/1,000 successful requests; team-wide ZDR $0.10/1,000 requests (Pro and Enterprise) | source · current price | verified |
Plans
| Date | Change | Source | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| between 2026-06-06 and 2026-06-28 Backfilled | Free tier ($5/month credit) limited to a subset of models with lower per-model rate limits than paid tier.Old: Free credits usable across all modelsNew: Free tier: subset of Free Tier eligible models, lower per-model rate limits | source · current price | verified |
FAQ
When did Vercel AI Gateway last change its pricing?
2026-07-21: AI Gateway added service tiers (default, priority, flex) for OpenAI and Gemini models, billed per tier actually used. Source: https://vercel.com/changelog/service-tiers-now-available-on-ai-gateway (entry).
When did Vercel AI Gateway last change its plans?
2026-06-28: Free tier ($5/month credit) limited to a subset of models with lower per-model rate limits than paid tier. Source: https://vercel.com/docs/ai-gateway/pricing (entry).
Sources we watch
- pricing: https://vercel.com/docs/ai-gateway/pricing (monitored, last checked 2026-10-23)
- rate_limits: https://vercel.com/docs/ai-gateway/rate-limits (monitored, last checked 2026-10-23)
- changelog: https://vercel.com/changelog (monitored, last checked 2026-10-23)
See also: Vercel AI Gateway in the full changelog (all changes) · How AI billing works · User reports