Vercel AI Gateway: AI Gateway added service tiers (default, priority, flex) for OpenAI and Gemini models, billed per tier actually used.
Old Single default tier (not stated)
New priority ~1.8-2x default pricing; flex ~0.5x default pricing
Why it matters: If you use Vercel AI Gateway (service tiers), this changes its pricing. The source does not state a separate effective date.
Alerts waitlist (not launched)
Joining sends nothing now; we keep your email only to tell you when alerts launch. Remove it any time: support@testedmcp.com. Stored by Netlify Forms. Privacy
| Product | Vercel AI Gateway (service tiers) |
|---|---|
| Category | pricing |
| Announced / detected | 2026-07-21 Backfilled |
| Backfilled | Yes: added retroactively |
| Quote verified against | https://vercel.com/changelog/service-tiers-now-available-on-ai-gateway |
| Effective | not stated in source |
| Before | Single default tier (not stated) |
| After | priority ~1.8-2x default pricing; flex ~0.5x default pricing |
| Official source | https://vercel.com/changelog/service-tiers-now-available-on-ai-gateway |
| Source quote | AI Gateway applies per-tier rates automatically based on the tier each request actually used. |
| Archive | No post-change Wayback capture found |
| Snapshot hash | sha256:658e41d7ed595204c05eb058163c793a70dc6f151695186a504f70a23b1e9ed0 |
| Status | verified |
All Vercel AI Gateway changes · Dispute or correct this entry
Previous changes from Vercel AI Gateway
- between 2026-06-06 and 2026-06-28 Backfilled: Free tier ($5/month credit) limited to a subset of models with lower per-model rate limits than paid tier.
- between 2026-04-28 and 2026-05-29 Backfilled: Pricing page lists charges for opt-in capabilities: Custom Reporting, team-wide provider allowlist, team-wide ZDR.