LimitWatch

Home › Guides

ChatGPT Pro 200 usage-limit cut reversed; Pro allowances raised (per the post) (Oct 29, 2026)

Update ·

Reversal: Pro 200 limits will not be reduced

What changed: Pro 200 cut cancelled [7] · per the post, limits doubled for Pro tiers and Business Premium [4]; per OpenAI’s help article, Pro 100 and Pro 500 doubled and on Pro 200 only the lower allowance doubled [7] · monthly API credits added to ChatGPT pricing [5]

At on Oct 29, 2026, Tibo (@thsottiaux), whose X bio reads "Codex & ChatGPT @OpenAI", posted the following. @OpenAI reposted it at .

Day 25/

We are doubling all usage limits for all Pro 100/200/500 tiers and Business Premium, effective today.

We heard your kind feedback and won’t be reducing usage limits for Pro 200, so your Work and Codex usage will stay the same. We’re also going to continue offering extended limits for dots for now, and usage of your dot will still continue to be separate from your default usage.

And we’ll of course also keep shipping better models and other efficiency improvements that increase your effective usage over time.

 [4] Full post text, archived Oct 29, 2026, 3:19 PM CT.
Pro 200 cut
Not happening: "won’t be reducing usage limits for Pro 200"
Limits (X post)
"doubling all usage limits for all Pro 100/200/500 tiers and Business Premium, effective today" (Oct 29, 2026) [4]
Limits (help article)
"Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance." "On Pro 200, only the lower allowance doubled." [7]
Existing Pro 200
"The reduction announced in our September 29 email is canceled." "If you already had the higher Work and Codex allowance, you keep it." "If you had the lower allowance, it has doubled to match." [7]
Dots
"continue offering extended limits for dots for now"; what a dot is: not defined in the post
API credits
$100 / $200 / $500 per month with Pro 100 / 200 / 500 [5]
Absolute limit numbers
not stated (the article gives none)
GPT-6 Pro weekly messages
"Pro 100 and Pro 500 keep their current weekly GPT-6 Pro message limits in Chat." "On Pro 200, the lower weekly limit now matches the higher one." "If you already had the higher limit, it stays the same." "These message limits are separate from your Work and Codex allowance." Message counts not stated [7]
Grandfathering after this change
No longer needed per the article: "The reduction announced in our September 29 email is canceled." "If you already had the higher Work and Codex allowance, you keep it." [7]
Plus
"Plus usage is unchanged." [7]

New: monthly API credits on ChatGPT pricing

The ChatGPT pricing page captured at 3:05 PM CT on Oct 29, 2026 shows API credits [5]; our 9:05 AM CT capture the same day did not [6].

Up to $500 in monthly API credits to build your own apps and agents. [5] ChatGPT pricing (API credits)
Monthly API credits: $100 with Pro 100, $200 with Pro 200, or $500 with Pro 500. [5] ChatGPT pricing (API credits)
Activation and eligibility requirements apply. First grant is prorated. Unused credits expire at the end of the applicable billing cycle. Annual Business plans receive credits annually. The API credit benefit is subject to change or discontinuation, including credit amounts and future renewals. [5] ChatGPT pricing (API credits)

History (superseded): the help-center allowance change

Superseded Oct 29, 2026, 11:56 AM CT. Everything below records what OpenAI’s help article said before the reversal post. It is kept as history; per the post above, Pro 200 usage limits will not be reduced.

Superseded
Price
$200/mo (unchanged) [1]
Allowance
Was to be lower; number not stated [1]
Grandfathered
Active Pro 200 subscription at any point Sep 22 – 10 a.m. PT Sep 29, 2026 [1]

Key dates (as announced, superseded)

Sep 22–29, 2026
Grandfathering window (ends 10 a.m. PT Sep 29)
Through Oct 29, 2026
Previous allowance kept
After Oct 29, 2026
Was to move to lower allowance

Help article as of . Source: OpenAI Help Center, as read (page showed "Updated 2 days ago"). Not affiliated with OpenAI.

What OpenAI’s help article says about the Pro 200 allowance change. Quotes are verbatim. Where the article does not say something, we write not stated.

What the help article said (superseded)

  • Grandfathered Pro 200 subscribers keep the previous included allowance through October 29, 2026, then move to the lower included usage allowance.
  • The price stays at $200/month.
  • How much lower the new allowance would be: not stated.

Who is grandfathered

Grandfathering applies if you had an active Pro 200 subscription at any point from September 22, 2026 through 10 a.m. Pacific Time on September 29, 2026. [1] OpenAI Help Center: About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Eligible customers can use the previous included allowance through October 29, 2026 while their Pro 200 subscription is active. [1] OpenAI Help Center: About ChatGPT Pro tiers

What was to happen after Oct 29

After that date, your subscription will move to the lower included usage allowance. Your subscription price stays at $200/month. Only users affected by this change will receive an email with additional details. [1] OpenAI Help Center: About ChatGPT Pro tiers

New Pro 200 subscriptions

Pro 200 is also available for new subscriptions again. New subscriptions that aren’t eligible for grandfathering include a lower usage allowance. [1] OpenAI Help Center: About ChatGPT Pro tiers

Pro tiers

USD per month [7] · "Pro is billed monthly. Annual billing and payment for multiple months in advance are not available." [7] · Ultrafast: "Among Pro plans, Ultrafast is available only on Pro 500." [7]
PlanPriceUltrafast
Pro 100$100Not included [7]
Pro 200$200Not included [7]
Pro 500$500Included [7]

What the article did not say

  • The size of the new, lower allowance (number or percentage): not stated.
  • A time of day or timezone for the change: not stated. The article says the previous allowance applies "through October 29, 2026" and the change comes "after that date".
  • Whether the change can be avoided by switching tiers: not stated.

FAQ

Is ChatGPT Pro 200 getting lower usage limits?

No. "We heard your kind feedback and won’t be reducing usage limits for Pro 200, so your Work and Codex usage will stay the same." (Oct 29, 2026, 11:56 AM CT) [4]

Did OpenAI double ChatGPT Pro usage limits?

Per the post: "We are doubling all usage limits for all Pro 100/200/500 tiers and Business Premium, effective today." [4] The help article is narrower: "Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance." "On Pro 200, only the lower allowance doubled." [7] Absolute numbers: not stated.

Do ChatGPT Pro plans include API credits?

$100 with Pro 100, $200 with Pro 200, $500 with Pro 500 per month; eligibility applies, first grant prorated, unused credits expire, subject to change. [5]

Sources

  1. OpenAI Help Center: About ChatGPT Pro tiers, read Oct 29, 2026, 8:12 AM CT
  2. OpenAI Codex pricing, captured Oct 29, 2026, 8:13 AM CT · "Plans at $100, $200, or $500 USD per month" · "Ultrafast mode access on Pro $500"
  3. ChatGPT pricing, captured Oct 29, 2026, 8:13 AM CT · "Your choice of 3 usage tiers"
  4. Tibo (@thsottiaux) on X, Day 25 post, posted Oct 29, 2026, 11:56 AM CT; full text archived 3:19 PM CT
  5. ChatGPT pricing (API credits), captured Oct 29, 2026, 3:05 PM CT
  6. ChatGPT pricing (earlier capture, no API credits text), captured Oct 29, 2026, 9:05 AM CT · "no "API credits" text on the page"
  7. OpenAI Help Center: About ChatGPT Pro tiers (Oct 30 capture), captured Oct 30, 2026, 8:20 AM CT (page: "Updated: 20 hours ago")

See also: ChatGPT Plus vs Pro limits · Limit changes scoreboard · Codex limits: what’s confirmed · AI usage limit resets log · Claude vs Codex limits. Not affiliated with OpenAI. Something wrong? Dispute it; corrections are dated and appended.