ChatGPT Plus vs Pro after the Oct 29 doubling: which limits apply to Codex and Work
One meter for Work and Codex; Plus unchanged, Pro allowances raised
Plus $20, Pro $100/$200/$500; OpenAI says "Plus usage is unchanged." [6] Pro 100 and Pro 500 doubled; on Pro 200 only the lower allowance doubled [6]. Pro has no five-hour limit [1].
- Work + Codex
- Share one allowance: "ChatGPT Work and Codex share usage." [1]
- Oct 29 doubling
- X post: "doubling all usage limits for all Pro 100/200/500 tiers and Business Premium". Help article: "Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance." "On Pro 200, only the lower allowance doubled." [2][6]
- Plus
- "Plus usage is unchanged." Fixed limits not stated; estimates only (e.g. 15-160 local messages per 5 hours on GPT-6.1 Sol). Weekly limit size not stated [6][1]
- Pro
- "Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit." Weekly limit size not stated [1]
- Absolute numbers
- not stated for any plan, before or after the doubling
Which limits apply to Codex and ChatGPT Work
ChatGPT Work and Codex share usage. [1] Codex pricing
ChatGPT uses the same pricing, credits, and usage limits as Codex. [1] Codex pricing
Local messages and cloud chats share your plan’s usage allowance. Weekly limits may also apply. [1] Codex pricing
GPT-6.1 Terra availability note on the Codex pricing page (about adding that model, not about the Oct 29 post): "Overall Work and Codex plan limits are unchanged." [1]
OpenAI’s help article says of the weekly GPT-6 Pro message limits in Chat: "These message limits are separate from your Work and Codex allowance." [6] Whether other Chat usage draws from the Work and Codex allowance: not stated. ChatGPT pricing labels its "Unlimited*" rows with a footnote that reads "Usage refers to Chat limits." [3]
Plus vs Pro, side by side
| Item | Plus | Pro (100 / 200 / 500) |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $20/month [1] | $100, $200 or $500 per month [1] |
| Pricing-page line | "Expanded Codex usage"; "Expanded access to ChatGPT Work on desktop, web, and mobile" [3] | "Longer Codex and ChatGPT Work sessions" [3] |
| Five-hour limit | Fixed limits not stated; estimates only (table below) [1] | "Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit." [1] |
| Weekly limit | "Weekly limits may also apply." Size not stated [1] | "Weekly limits may also apply." Size not stated [1] |
| Oct 29, 2026 change | "Plus usage is unchanged." [6] | X post: "doubling all usage limits". Help article: "Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance." "On Pro 200, only the lower allowance doubled." [2][6] |
| Limits in numbers | not stated | not stated |
| GPT-6 Pro weekly messages | not stated | "Pro 100 and Pro 500 keep their current weekly GPT-6 Pro message limits in Chat." "On Pro 200, the lower weekly limit now matches the higher one." Separate from Work and Codex; counts not stated [6] |
| Monthly API credits | not listed [3] | $100 / $200 / $500 by tier [4] |
| Out of limit | Buy credits [1] | Buy credits [1] |
Plus: estimated local messages per five hours
The estimates below show local messages per five-hour period for Plus and Standard Business. Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit. [1] Codex pricing
| Model | Plus |
|---|---|
| GPT-6 Astra | 5-45 |
| GPT-6.1 Sol | 15-160 |
| GPT-6.1 Terra | 35-285 |
| GPT-6 Sol | 15-150 |
| GPT-6 Luna | 350-3,000 |
These estimates are not fixed message limits; check your usage dashboard for current limits and reset times. [1] Codex pricing
What the Oct 29 post says
We are doubling all usage limits for all Pro 100/200/500 tiers and Business Premium, effective today. [2] Tibo
We heard your kind feedback and won’t be reducing usage limits for Pro 200, so your Work and Codex usage will stay the same. [2] Tibo
The post names Pro 100/200/500 and Business Premium. It does not mention Plus, and does not give before/after numbers. OpenAI’s help article gives the per-tier detail: "Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance." "On Pro 200, only the lower allowance doubled." "If you already had the higher Work and Codex allowance, you keep it." [6] Full post and reversal history: ChatGPT Pro 200 guide.
Is Chat merging with Work?
Tibo (@thsottiaux), Oct 28, 2026, 6:35 PM CT, full readable text: [5]
Team is working on this but it’s not rolling out just yet, sorry for any confusion. Plan is to bring together best of both Chat / Work capabilities together at some point this year, but we’re going to proceed carefully here and take our time.
We’ll have more to share soon.
[5] Tibo (@thsottiaux) on X
Tibo posted it as a quote of another account’s post. That account is not an OpenAI source, so we do not cite it. Whether Chat, Work and Codex will share one allowance: not stated. A date: not stated beyond "at some point this year".
What OpenAI has not stated
- Plus weekly limit size: not stated.
- Pro weekly limit size, before or after the doubling: not stated.
- Absolute usage numbers for any plan: not stated; the help article gives none.
- GPT-6 Pro weekly message counts: not stated.
- Whether Chat usage other than GPT-6 Pro messages shares the Work/Codex allowance: not stated.
- Pro five-hour estimates per model: none published; "Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit."
FAQ
Did ChatGPT Plus get doubled limits on Oct 29, 2026?
No. OpenAI’s help article About ChatGPT Pro tiers (captured Oct 30, 2026, 8:20 AM CT) says: "Plus usage is unchanged." [6]
Did every Pro tier double?
The Oct 29 X post says "doubling all usage limits for all Pro 100/200/500 tiers". OpenAI’s help article is narrower: "Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. On Pro 200, only the lower allowance doubled." Absolute numbers are not stated. [6]
Do Codex and ChatGPT Work share a usage limit?
Yes. OpenAI’s Codex pricing page says: "ChatGPT Work and Codex share usage." [1]
How many Codex messages does ChatGPT Plus get?
Fixed limits are not stated; OpenAI gives estimates only. It estimates local messages per five hours, for example 15-160 on GPT-6.1 Sol. It says: "These estimates are not fixed message limits; check your usage dashboard for current limits and reset times." The weekly limit size is not stated. [1]
Does ChatGPT Pro have a five-hour limit?
OpenAI’s Codex pricing page says: "Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit." It also says "Weekly limits may also apply." The weekly limit size is not stated. [1]
Is ChatGPT Chat merging with Work?
On Oct 28, 2026, Tibo (@thsottiaux) posted: "Team is working on this but it’s not rolling out just yet, sorry for any confusion." A shared Chat/Work/Codex allowance is not stated. [5]
Sources
- Codex pricing (learn.chatgpt.com/docs/pricing; developers.openai.com/codex/pricing redirects here), captured Oct 30, 2026, 8:10 AM CT
- Tibo (@thsottiaux) on X, Day 25 post (reposted by @OpenAI), posted Oct 29, 2026, 11:56 AM CT; archived 3:19 PM CT
- ChatGPT pricing, captured Oct 29, 2026, 3:05 PM CT. LimitWatchBot fetches returned HTTP 403 at 8:10 AM and 8:18 AM CT on Oct 30 (logged in sources/), so it was not re-captured
- OpenAI Developers (@OpenAIDevs) on X, posted Oct 28, 2026, 6:17 PM CT; archived Oct 30, 8:11 AM CT
- Tibo (@thsottiaux) on X, posted Oct 28, 2026, 6:35 PM CT; archived Oct 30, 8:11 AM CT
- OpenAI Help Center: About ChatGPT Pro tiers, captured Oct 30, 2026, 8:20 AM CT (browser capture; page: "Updated: 20 hours ago")
See also: ChatGPT Pro 200: limit cut reversed, limits doubled · Limit changes scoreboard · Codex limits: what’s confirmed. Not affiliated with OpenAI. Something wrong? Dispute it; corrections are dated and appended.