LimitWatch

Home › Companies › Google (Gemini) › March 2026

Google (Gemini) pricing and rate-limit changes, March 2026

4 dated changes to Google (Gemini) (Gemini API) recorded in March 2026, 2026-03-12 to 2026-03-29. Each links the official source. This page lists changes, not Google (Gemini)'s current limit tables.

Rate limits

DateChangeSourceStatus
between 2026-03-21 and 2026-03-29 BackfilledUsage tier qualification lowered for Tier 2 and re-based on first payment for Tier 3; billing tier caps listed.Old: Tier 2: total spend > $250 and 30 days since successful payment; Tier 3: total spend > $1,000 and 30 daysNew: Tier 1 cap $250; Tier 2: paid $100 + 3 days from first payment (cap $2,000); Tier 3: paid $1,000 + 30 days (cap $20,000 - $100,000+)source · current priceverified
2026-03-16 BackfilledGemini API usage tiers revamped and Billing Account spend caps introduced.Old: Previous usage tiers (not stated)New: Revamped usage tiers (thresholds not stated in changelog); Billing Account spend capssource · current priceverified

Quotas

DateChangeSourceStatus
2026-03-12 BackfilledProject-level spend caps added to billing in AI Studio.Old: Previous value not recordedNew: Project-level spend caps available (amounts user-set)source · current priceverified

Plans

DateChangeSourceStatus
2026-03-23 BackfilledPrepay and Postpay billing plans rolled out in AI Studio; existing accounts may be affected.Old: Previous value not recordedNew: Prepay and Postpay billing planssource · current priceverified

FAQ

Did Google (Gemini) change its rate limits in March 2026?

Yes, 2 recorded changes. 2026-03-29: Usage tier qualification lowered for Tier 2 and re-based on first payment for Tier 3; billing tier caps listed. Source: https://ai.google.dev/gemini-api/docs/rate-limits (entry). 2026-03-16: Gemini API usage tiers revamped and Billing Account spend caps introduced. Source: https://ai.google.dev/gemini-api/docs/changelog (entry).

Did Google (Gemini) change its quotas in March 2026?

Yes, 1 recorded change. 2026-03-12: Project-level spend caps added to billing in AI Studio. Source: https://ai.google.dev/gemini-api/docs/changelog (entry).

Did Google (Gemini) change its plans in March 2026?

Yes, 1 recorded change. 2026-03-23: Prepay and Postpay billing plans rolled out in AI Studio; existing accounts may be affected. Source: https://ai.google.dev/gemini-api/docs/changelog (entry).

All Google (Gemini) changes · All companies, March 2026 · Methodology